Jellification!

Thank you for visiting my running blog.

After my longest run to date last weekend, Monday started off with a gentle 4 mile recovery run in the sun. With some trepidation and minor twinges, I headed to my yoga (Ashtanga) class on Tuesday. It was a great class and, although it’s always a lot tougher than it looks, it was the perfect way to stretch troublesome areas and rest the mind. I really am surprised why more runners don’t practice yoga – I find it really helpful and good fun.

Wednesday was a very busy day at work and my usual lunchtime run didn’t happen. Instead, that evening I headed to the dreaded treadmill in the gym for 5.6 miles of plod, plod, plod. Chilly Thursday saw me running in Green Park at lunchtime. I was planning to run Fartlek but my legs felt tired so I ran steady pace for 3 miles and then a faster mile to finish. Friday was a much-welcomed rest day.

Today’s (Saturday) snowy 16 miles in the parks was a new longest run for me. My mental toughness and focus is strengthening and it feels so good! According to Wikipedia, a 2009 poll of 4,000 British adults voted jelly babies their 6th favourite sweet. A few of them helped me on my way and, right now, I agree with those 4,000 Brits.

Next weekend I’ll be running the Bath Half. Juliet’s running too and we’ll be supported by Juliet’s sister, Clare. We have a great weekend in Bristol planned and I can’t wait. It will be only my second ever half marathon and my fingers are crossed the weather will be a lot better than it was during my previous half in Marlow – check it out. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J2bp6-SI3gA.

Things are looking good for the talk I’ve arranged by Mark Rowlands (author of The Philosopher and the Wolf and the forthcoming Running with the Pack) in central London on 4 March – hopefully meeting Mark and hearing him talk will inspire me and others who love to run.

Have a great week!

Paul

I’m running the 2013 London Marathon for Mencap. I’m tantalisngly close to achieving my fundraising target. I would be enormously grateful for any support you could give me. Please have a look at my sponsorship page!

Leave a Reply

