The happiness of the long(ish) distance runner

8 (Snowdonian) miles completed!

8 (Snowdonian) miles completed!

On the mountain road

Easter day - my final long run behind me. Hooray!

Easter day – my final long run behind me. Hooray!

 

Hello and welcome to my running blog.

After last Sunday’s wet and windy 20 miles in Hyde Park, I was looking forward to the Easter break and a change of scene, hopefully with some much-missed sunshine. Tuesday, Juliet and I drove up to North Wales (Snowdonia). Anticipating ice and snow drifts, the journey was one of the most spectacular we’ve ever experienced. Once we left London, our journey was one of bright sunshine and snow-covered mountains – stunning all the way!

After Wednesday’s day of walking along the coast and taking in some refreshing sea air, Thursday was my first run of the week – around 8 miles (flat) around the village of Beddgelert. Friday was 30 minutes of gentle running, followed by a walk along the route of an old copper mine. Spectacular weather again. Some brave souls were running up the mountains – r.e.s.p.e.c.t.

Saturday was another coastal walk and discovering more of the beauty of North Wales.

Today (Sunday) started with an uplifting service at the local church and then the moment that I had been waiting for/slightly dreading – my 20 mile run. Juliet and I had been trying to work out a route that would not be too hilly or cause too much strain. In the end, I ran for nearly 3 hours – some parts fairly hilly but generally flat. It was a run surrounded by stunning scenery and wonderful weather – the ideal tonic. This will be my final long run before I start tapering in time for the London Marathon on 21 April.

Have a great week!

Paul

I’m running the 2013 London Marathon for Mencap. Please have a look at my sponsorship page!

Leave a Reply

